Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Material - Hallucination Engine

(Zawinul,Johnson) 7:30
7) The Hidden Garden / Naima (BL,SS,NS,Coltrane) 13:00
8) Shadows of Paradise (BL,LS,NS) 9:45 Bill Laswell: basses, beats, loops, samples, etc
Wayne Shorter: soprano & tenor sax
Simon Shaheen: violin and oud
Nicky Skopelitis: acoustic and electric 6 & 12-string guitars, coral electric sitar, baglama and Fairlight
Bernie Worrell: electric piano, Hammond B-3 organ
Bootsy Collins: space bass
Lakshmi Shankar: electric violin
Sly Dunbar: drum kit
Jeff Bova: synthesizers
Jihad Racy: ney
Aiyb Dieng: chatan, congas, percussion
Jonas Hellborg: acoustic bass guitar and fretless electric bass
Zakir Hussain, Trilok Gurtu: tabla
Vikku Vinayakram: ghatam
Fahim Dandan, Liu Sola, William S. Burroughs: voice
George Basil: dulcimer, qanoun
Michael Baklouk: daff, tambourine
1) Black Light (BL,WS) 7:33
2) Mantra (BL,LS,Caroline) 8:44
3) Ruins (Submutation Dub) (BL) 8:54
4) Eternal Drift (BL,NS) 7:35
5) Words of Advice (BL,WSB) 3:58
6) Cucumber Slumber (Fluxus Mix)

1 comment:

marram62 said...

Praising Hallucination Engine as a postmodern Bitches Brew may seem mad, but Material bassist-composerguru Bill Laswell risks a maneuver akin to the one Miles Davis pulled off with his 1969 trailblazer: fusing disparate sounds into one groovy om of exhilaration and release. For sonic gorgeousness, funky trance states and technical bravado, this bid is the boldest. The players – including saxophonist Wayne Shorter, bassist Bootsy Collins, drummer Sly Dunbar and violinist Shankar – on extended flights such as "Mantra" and a reworking of Weather Report's "Cucumber Slumber" swirl, churn and percolate, achieving the still point in a turning world. (RS 677)